This Help forum is for issues relates to the latest release (1.1.x). For issues related to beta or svn version please use their own Help forum.
When requesting help please provide as much information as possible. Explain what version of webtrees, PHP and MYSQL you are using. If possible provide a URL to your site so we can see the problem first-hand.
Tip: Think about putting these details in your signature, so it appears in the footer of ALL your messages
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Setup wizard does not run

Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #1

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hi,

I have loaded webtrees 1.1.2 onto an Ubuntu server as described in the Wiki. Now, When I try to launch the setup wizard (http://server/webtrees/setup.php) I get an empty page in Firefox or an error message 500 in Internet explorer.

As this problem persisted, I tried to run setup.php locally on the server (by php -F setup.php) catching the oputput.

errout shows "PHP fatal error: Cannot redeclare to_mb() (previously declared in /var/www/webtrees/setup.php:1018) in /var/www/webtrees/setup.php on line 1028)


if I rename the otput from stdout to e.g. test.html, this page shows well in the browser, but a click on continue shows the behaviour described above again.

Regards
Helmut

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #2

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 12924
Hi Helmut,

<<I get an empty page>>

You probably have the setting "display_errors=Off" in your PHP.INI file.

<<errout shows "PHP fatal error: Cannot redeclare to_mb() (previously declared in /var/www/webtrees/setup.php:1018) in /var/www/webtrees/setup.php on line 1028)>>

It is not obvious what could cause this error.

Is this the only error? Perhaps, if you set "display_errors=On", you may see more information?
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #3

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hi Greg,

I don't see other error messages, even if display_errors is switched on. And this error message appears only if I run "php -F setup.php" without the option -F tehere is no error.

Note:
PHP is 5.3.5

Regards

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #4

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 12924
Are there any errors in your apache error log?
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #5

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Greg,

with your hint, it seems to proceed a little bit. I looked into the Apache error.log and have seen this:

[Wed Jun 01 14:10:24 2011] [error] [client 192.168.1.5] PHP Warning: Unknown: failed to open stream: Permission denied in Unknown on line 0
[Wed Jun 01 14:10:24 2011] [error] [client 192.168.1.5] PHP Fatal error: Unknown: Failed opening required '/var/www/webtrees/setup.php' (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear') in Unknown on line 0


looking in the webtrees directory, all files hat access rights -rw
so I changes access rights to give read access to everyon.

Now, the above errors have disappeared from the Apache log, there are new ones instead:

[Wed Jun 01 14:13:13 2011] [error] [client 192.168.1.5] PHP Warning: require_once(Zend/Loader/Autoloader.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /var/www/webtrees/setup.php on line 92
[Wed Jun 01 14:13:13 2011] [error] [client 192.168.1.5] PHP Fatal error: require_once(): Failed opening required 'Zend/Loader/Autoloader.php' (include_path='library:.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear') in /var/www/webtrees/setup.php on line 92

So, we should look to get the Autoloader.php - changing setup.php or a variable?

REgards
Helmut

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #6

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 12924
It is trying to load this file: /var/www/webtrees/Zend/Loader/Autoloader.php

Does it exist?

Does it have correct permissions? The files/directories need world read-access (755 for directories and 644 for files). In addition, the media and data directories need to be 777)
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #7

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
No, there is no Zend directory in the webtrees delivery.

Helmut

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #8

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 12924
Sorry my typo

/var/www/webtrees/library/Zend/Loader/Autoloader.php
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Do you need a web hosting solution for your webtrees site?
If you prefer a host that specialises in webtrees, the following page lists some suppliers able to provide one for you: 

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #9

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hi Greg,

I did apt-get install zend-framework. Now it works.

Thank you very much again, I would never have solved this on my own.

Regards
Helmut

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #10

  • KosherJava
  • KosherJava's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Frequent
  • Frequent
  • Posts: 512
Would it make sense to detect the lack of this required library something that was detected when setting up a site and gracefully display a warning like other required minimums?
hershfeld.com/family/ (webtrees git dev)
PHP: 5.6.15, MySQL: 5.5.42

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #11

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 12924
But the library *IS* present. We include it with the distribution. In fact very very few servers would actually have it otherwise.

According to the error message, Helmut's include path is 'library:.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear'. The default path is '.::/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear' - webtrees prepends 'library' to the beginning. We can see the path was updated OK.

Helmut never answered my questions "does the file /var/www/webtrees/library/Zend/Loader/Autoloader.php" exist.

Also, webtrees includes a *specific* version of the Zend Framework library in its releases. I don't know what version is included in the Ubuntu package/distribution, but there could possibly be compatibility errors.
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #12

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hi,

/var/www/webtrees/library/Zend/Loader/Autoloader.php does exist, I did not see it, i don't know why. However, it started working only after I did install the "zend-framework".

Sorry for the misunderstanding.

Regards
Helmut

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #13

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Another suggestion: the Wiki for installation should mention the needed access rights. The distribution is va ZIP-file where there are no access rights. If you upload the files from a Wndows client, the defaults of the server are set, which have not been enough (at least in my case).

REgards
Helmut

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #14

  • ToyGuy
  • ToyGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Live like it's Christmas every day - Santa Stephen
  • Posts: 4925
Helmut
The installation procedure is supposed to check permissions and advise the admin (installer) that their permissions are not adequately enabled. There should be no need to mention it elsewhere as this is a step-by-step procedure. The procedure is not designed for any particular operating system, but rather adapts to whatever system it is being installed upon.

Are you saying you received no warnings during the process? I've never seen any installation without warnings, if necessary, or a big green configuration OK if no changes were needed. I think most of your problem revolved around an inadequate or incomplete download or upload to your server of the version.

BTW, the next version is probably less than a week away and there are important improvements. You should always upgrade promptly as we do not always announce security problems in older versions.
Santa Stephen the Fabled Santa
Latest webtrees at MyArnolds.com
Hosted by webtreesonline.com , a division of GeneHosts LLC
MacOS 10.6.8, Apache 2.2+, PHP 5.4.16, MySQL 5.5.28

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #15

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hi Stephen,

Which installation procedure are you referring to?
I did the installation followinthe Wiki ( wiki.webtrees.net/Installation ) which says:

<Quote>
Installing webtrees is really easy. All you need is a webserver with PHP and MySQL. Almost every web hosting service provides these.

Download webtrees-1.1.2.zip from launchpad.net/webtrees/1.1/1.1.2/+download/webtrees-1.1.2.zip
Unzip the files and upload them to an empty directory on your web server.
Open your web browser and type the URL for your webtrees site (for example, www.yourserver.com/webtrees ) into the address bar.
The webtrees setup wizard will start automatically. This will ask you a few questions about your server, and then generate a configuration file for you. At the end of the setup you will be asked to upload the configuration file to the webserver. This is a security check to make sure only the site owner can configure it.

That's it!

</quote>

not mentionning any access rights.

I downloaded the ZIP-file, I unzipped it on a Windows machine, I uploaded it to the Server using FTP. No check performed (who should have done?)

Then, it did not start automatically, I had to specify ..../webtrees/setup.php -

Result: see my first message. Obviously, the reason were too restrictive access rights.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #16

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 12924
<<not mentionning any access rights.>>

The setup wizard *DOES* check the access rights. After you upload your config.ini.php file, it checks that various files/directories are readable/writable. You will have seen a whole bunch of green messages telling you "checking that XXX is readable/writable .... OK"

It does this using the PHP::is_readable() and PHP::is_writable() functions. This is reliable on UNIX based servers.

However, you are using a Microsft Windows server. Presumably it responded with "the media directory IS writable", (or you ignored the warning.). My experience of Microsoft file-access-control suggests that it probably lied to you :-)

<<Then, it did not start automatically, I had to specify ..../webtrees/setup.php ->>

You just need to specify the directory (..../webtrees). This should load index.php - which will redirect automatically to setup.php. If your server is not loading index.php as a "directory index file", then your server is mis-configured.
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #17

Helmut - did you see Greg's earlier response

Also, webtrees includes a *specific* version of the Zend Framework library in its releases. I don't know what version is included in the Ubuntu package/distribution, but there could possibly be compatibility errors.


If you installed some other version of the library than the one in our package, you can expect problems later.
Nigel

www.our-families.info

Hosted at:
Follow me at:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #18

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Greg,

The Wiki does not mention uploading ini file. This comes up during the run of setup.php.

However, an ini-file does nor run for itself. As setup.php does not execute (message 1) there is no way of an access rights check triggered by the INI-file. And even, if I would have uploaded the ini file (I did not know of it befire setup was run) before, it would have got the same wrong access rights.

REgards
Helmut

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #19

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Nigel,

probalby I wil try to de-install the zend-framework later again and retry.

Regards
Helmut

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Setup wizard does not run 8 years 11 months ago #20

  • hlein
  • hlein's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hi Jackie,

1) as I said in a previous posting, I followed the instructions on wiki.webtrees.net/Installation , the contents are the same as in the French one.

2)

The Wiki does not mention uploading ini file. This comes up during the run of setup.php.
Perhaps you miss that sentence ?


I did not miss the sentence.

Perhaps you did not see my comment

However, an ini-file does nor run for itself. As setup.php does not execute (message 1) there is no way of an access rights check triggered by the INI-file. And even, if I would have uploaded the ini file (I did not know of it befire setup was run) before, it would have got the same wrong access rights.


If setup does not start and you cannot start it manually, you are out of luck.

See the postings from the beginning. Setup could not be run. So, every discussion what happens/should happen within setup or after setup does not meet the point and is useless.

Regards
Helmut

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by hlein.
  • Page:
  • 1
Powered by Kunena Forum