Web based family history software

This Help forum is for issues relates to the latest release (1.2.x). For issues related to beta or svn version please use their own Help forum.
When requesting help please provide as much information as possible. Explain what version of webtrees, PHP and MYSQL you are using. If possible provide a URL to your site so we can see the problem first-hand.
Tip: Think about putting these details in your signature, so it appears in the footer of ALL your messages

Question can't install

• froob
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
11 years 9 months ago #1 by froob
can't install was created by froob
Total noob here, can't get off the ground with install.

Server is running ubuntu with mysql 5.0.51a-3ubuntu5.8, php 5.2.4-2ubuntu5.14 and apache2.

I created a webtrees folder in apache's website location [I have an existing website there which works fine], and copied all the files from the webtrees download into this folder.

When I navigate to the URL for this folder from my browser [safari 5.1.7 on snow leopard], I get a blank screen, nothing happens.

I can navigate to the readme.html file and it displays.

What is missing in order to launch the setup wizard?

Thank you for your attention.
-F
www.raintown.net/fBlog

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• ToyGuy
  • Live like it's Christmas every day - Santa Stephen
More
11 years 9 months ago #2 by ToyGuy
Replied by ToyGuy on topic Re: can't install
What about permissions? Does the server have the rights to read the webtrees folder and files?
Have you confirmed that all the files transferred correctly?

For later, have you created or have a database in place with a U/N and Password?

Santa Stephen the Fabled Santa
Latest webtrees at MyArnolds.com
Hosted by webtreesonline.com , a division of GeneHosts LLC
MacOS 10.6.8, Apache 2.2+, PHP 5.4.16, MySQL 5.5.28

• fisharebest
  • Away
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
More
11 years 9 months ago #3 by fisharebest