TOPIC: Relationships

Relationships 1 year 4 months ago #1

• WGroleau
  • Gold
I've been away for a long time, so it may be that things have changed so much that this posting is irrelevant.

But I looked for the change history and didn't find it, so here goes.

I put a lot of work into code to figure out the correct terms for relationships in Spanish, but not long after I provided that code, I remember discovering wrong terms. I hope someone else has also discovered them and fixed them. Si no, ¡lo siento much, mis amigos hispanohablantes!

Since then, I've started learning Chinese, and I just discovered one wrong relationship term in chinese. (My mother's father's father has the term that belongs to my father's father's father.)

I started studying the Chinese terms, and it only took a few minutes into that complicated system to come to the conclusion that attempting to write code in a procedural language to compute the terms for umpteen human languages may not be the best way to go about it. I have ideas for two alternate approaches:

1. A database table: language, relationship, term. Relationship could be the sib/par/spo/dau/etc. used before, except that each three-char link might need another flag for older/younger. When a wrong term is discovered, or a new term needs to be added, then just add/change one or more records in that table. If needed, a new column could be added for factors I don't yet know about that some language might have.

2. A mock family tree for each language, where the NAME of each individual is the relationship term relative to the individual named SELF. When a wrong term is discovered, or a new term needs to be added, then just add/change one or more individuals in that tree. To determine the relationship between to individuals in a real tree, just follow the equivalent path in the mock tree for the current language.