Please do NOT expect all Feature Requests to be actioned automatically. Describing your proposal here will ensure the development team are aware of it, and they will give it careful consideration.

TOPIC: Extended Census Assistant

Extended Census Assistant 2 months 3 days ago #1

• bluesky
  • New
I'm a developer, and I have actually started development on what I propose here. I'm just curious whether it aligns with the goals of the software, and whether anything like this has been attempted previously.
I came to this when I wanted to start feeding census records and looked for a convenient and natural way to coordinate the multiple persons on the census record. The Census Assistant provides just that.
But then I began wondering about various ways to extend the Census Assistant (and as mentioned, developed it a bit).
The first step is to automatically create various facts based on the census. If the census marks an age or place of birth, you can create a birth record. If it marks immigration date, you can create an immigration record. Etc. It should probably be able to create individuals as well if the individual was not previously known.
The next step is to adapt the census assistant to other similar records such as ship manifests. So instead of being just for censuses, it could also be used for immigration or emigration.
Finally, other forms such as naturalization, birth, marriage, death records, etc, could be adapted as well. It could become a generalized form assistant that could automatically create appropriate records based on the data provided.
Because all of this is so useful (at least, it sounds very useful to me), I wonder if it was done previously or if there are additional considerations to take into account.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Extended Census Assistant 2 months 3 days ago #2

• fisharebest
  • Administrator
1) Sounds interesting.
2) I'm not aware of anything similar that has been done before.