Web based family history software

Question Unable to update or add media - Solved

• arendzen
  • Topic Author
More
3 years 10 months ago #1 by arendzen
Unable to update or add media was created by arendzen
I've been trying to update to the latest version but receive the following message - curl_exec(): Unable to create temporary file, Check permissions in temporary files directory. I've tried changing permissions in the tmp folders but it makes no difference. I approached my web hosts who say there's no problem at their end and suggest I try raising the issue with the developers.

There is another problem, which I think is related as it happened at the same time. I can't add media - the page just hangs on "save" - this is a new problem as it worked OK before. I've been running webtrees for more than five years without a problem.

If anyone could offer a suggestion, I'd be very grateful.

I suspect that the problem is with the server rather than the webtrees software as I had a similar recent problem with Wordpress which I got round by adding a temp file and adding a direction to it in config.php - I'm wondering whether there might be a similar workaround in webtrees?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 10 months ago #2 by fisharebest
Replied by fisharebest on topic Unable to update or add media
> curl_exec(): Unable to create temporary file

It could be that your server is configured to create temporary files in a folder to which it does not have write permission...

Look in the folder modules_v4.
There is some information about how to create custom modules and a few templates/examples.
One is called "example-server-configuration".

It has code (all commented out) which attempts to modify the server setup.

You could look at the section which creates/uses/configures a new temp folder.

> I can't add media - the page just hangs on "save" - this is a new problem as it worked OK before.

This could be many things.