This Help forum is for issues relates to the latest release (1.4.6). For issues related to beta or git version please use their own Help forum.
Before asking for help please read "How to request help" by clicking on that tab above here.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: new install problems

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #1

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
i didn't know about webtrees until a few days ago when i realized that i hadn't seen any emails from the PGV lists so i went to check on that and realized that i had not changed my email address several years ago... so i fixed that and one of the first messages that came in mentioned that PGV has been a dead project for about 3 years and that webtrees was branched from PGV back then... so i've been doing some reading and getting everything in order to install webtrees and migrate my existing PGV installation to it...

so, i'm following the instructions on the wiki...

1. set up the database user - check (sharing the same database as PGV just using a different prefix)
2. download the archive - check
3. unzip the archive locally - check
4. upload the unzipped files to the server - check
5. go to site/webtrees - check
6. server config checked - good
7. configure database access - check
8. create administrator account for webtrees - check
9. log in and start using webtrees - fail

the problem seems to be that webtrees is changing the site name in the url and that seems to be making it think that my browser doesn't accept cookies...

i host my sites on my own machines... i have one main server and numerous sites that are "reverse proxied" to back end servers... my machines have internal LAN FQDNs and their reverse proxied WAN FQDN for access from outside my LAN... all access from inside my LAN uses the WAN FQDN... never the LAN name(s)...

eg: foobar.mysite.drek is hosted internally on barsoom.local

so what i'm seeing is that i access foobar.mysite.drek/webtrees/login.php and fill in my administrator name and password... then i click on the [Login] button... now i'm redirected to barsoom.local/webtrees/login.php with a red notice that "You cannot login because your browser does not accept cookies." :(

the cookie IS created in my browser with the following

Name: WT_SESSION
Content: a string of characters
Domain: .foobar.mysite.drek
Path: /webtrees/
Send for: any type of connection
Expires: at end of session

so it does have the proper WAN FQDN... what do i need to edit to prevent this server name problem and have it load the proper WAN FQDN instead of the LAN FQDN? some quick digging and rooting around seems to show that includes/session.php is where i need to fix this but i'm not sure exactly how or where...

thanks!
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
Last Edit: 5 years 8 months ago by wkitty42.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #2

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10914
so what i'm seeing is that i access foobar.mysite.drek/webtrees/login.php and fill in my administrator name and password... then i click on the [Login] button... now i'm redirected to barsoom.local/webtrees/login.php

Redirected? How exactly? i.e. is webtrees generating a "Location:" header, or is this your webserver, or ....

Have you set either the SERVER_URL or LOGIN_URL parameters in the site config? (That's the wt_site_setting table, if you cannot log in to check!).

What happens if you log on directly to the local machine?
What happens if you don't visit login.php as the first page? i.e. visit index.php first.
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #3

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
fisharebest wrote:
so what i'm seeing is that i access foobar.mysite.drek/webtrees/login.php and fill in my administrator name and password... then i click on the [Login] button... now i'm redirected to barsoom.local/webtrees/login.php

Redirected? How exactly? i.e. is webtrees generating a "Location:" header, or is this your webserver, or ....
perhaps "redirected" is the wrong word... the location bar of the browser contains

foobar.mysite.drek/webtrees/login.php

before the click and

barsoom.local/webtrees/login.php

after the click but now the box has the red notice "You cannot login because your browser does not accept cookies."

fisharebest wrote:
Have you set either the SERVER_URL or LOGIN_URL parameters in the site config? (That's the wt_site_setting table, if you cannot log in to check!).
no i have not set those... this is the very very very very first login attempt after installation... actually, that's not right, either... this is the very first login attempt DURING installation... the one that the site admin has to do to set everything up in webtrees...

fisharebest wrote:
What happens if you log on directly to the local machine?
no clue... we always use the WAN FQDN for our sites that are accessible from the WAN... never the LAN FQDN... this to avoid problems and confusion...

fisharebest wrote:
What happens if you don't visit login.php as the first page? i.e. visit index.php first.
haven't tried... there's no GED been imported yet...

however, i have hacked my way in by adjusting include/session.php so that it does NOT use
$_SERVER['server_name']
... i tried changing the server name setting in the virtual domain in the apache2 config for the domain and that didn't work... so i've "hard coded" the proper 'server_name' so that it uses the WAN FQDN...

now i'm on to the transfer wizard and have run square into the following error that i've not found a solution for yet...

/var/genealogy/htdocs/index/config.php => wt_site_setting ...

pgv_site_setting => wt_site_setting ...

/var/genealogy/htdocs/index/gedcoms.php => wt_gedcom ...

pgv_users => wt_user ...

pgv_users => wt_user_setting ...

pgv_users => wt_user_gedcom_setting ...

Reading configuration file /var/genealogy/htdocs/index/VELewis-20080925a.ged_conf.php

Reading privacy file /var/genealogy/htdocs/index/VELewis-20080925a.ged_priv.php

ERROR 8: Undefined variable: FULL_SOURCES
0 Error occurred on line 669 of file admin_pgv_to_wt.php

now what do i do? ;)

BTW: good to read your posts again... it has been at least 3 years ;) ;) ;)
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
Last Edit: 5 years 8 months ago by wkitty42.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #4

  • kiwi
  • kiwi's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum
  • Posts: 4934
wkitty42 wrote:
now i'm on to the transfer wizard and have run square into the following error that i've not found a solution for yet...

See: www.webtrees.net/index.php/en/forum/11-c...ariable-full-sources
Nigel

www.our-families.info

Hosted at:
Follow me at:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #5

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10914
i tried changing the server name setting in the virtual domain in the apache2 config for the domain and that didn't work

If my analysis is correct - fisharebest.stonystratford.org/132/where...apache-versus-nginx/ - apache ignores this....
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #6

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
kiwi wrote:
wkitty42 wrote:
now i'm on to the transfer wizard and have run square into the following error that i've not found a solution for yet...

See: www.webtrees.net/index.php/en/forum/11-c...ariable-full-sources

thanks! i was able to take the easy way out and click save on the configuration for the "tree"... then a refresh of the PGV to WT page and now it is telling me to log in with my PGV user name... so here we go ;)
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #7

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10914
Out of interest, what happens if you set SERVER_URL to "foobar.mysite.drek" in the wt_site_setting table?

edit - the forum automatically hides h t t p, which is awkward when you need them to show.

h t t p : / / foobar.mysite.drek
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net
Last Edit: 5 years 8 months ago by fisharebest.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #8

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
fisharebest wrote:
i tried changing the server name setting in the virtual domain in the apache2 config for the domain and that didn't work

If my analysis is correct - fisharebest.stonystratford.org/132/where...apache-versus-nginx/ - apache ignores this....

i'm not sure where it gets it from but i changed it everywhere i could and it remained the same... the one place i could not change it is in the ProxyPass and ProxyPassReverse settings of the front end server... it would go into a loop then because it would keep coming back to itself... those settings have to use the internal name...

and FWIW: the hostname of that machine is nothing like the LAN FQDN or the WAN FQDN so i'm not sure where it gets that info from unless possibly from DNS but i have all DNS lookups in apache2 turned off, IIRC...
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Do you need a web hosting solution for your webtrees site?
If you prefer a host that specialises in webtrees, the following page lists some suppliers able to provide one for you: 

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #9

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
fisharebest wrote:
Out of interest, what happens if you set SERVER_URL to "foobar.mysite.drek" in the wt_site_setting table?

edit - the forum automatically hides h t t p, which is awkward when you need them to show.

h t t p : / / foobar.mysite.drek
i dunno... i haven't gotten that far yet... am still waiting on the conversion process to finish... i started it within a minute of my previous post where i got past the FULL_SOURCES error... this is a huge database of individuals... something like 22000 of them in the current load ;)

so far it is 22.8% thru and it is still running as i see the .x% part increment every few minutes :lol:
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #10

  • ToyGuy
  • ToyGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Live like it's Christmas every day - Santa Stephen
  • Posts: 4925
wkitty42 On a properly configured server, 22000 INDI's is nothing. Moderately big for PGV, but almost inconsequential to webtrees.
The wizard should have moved that across lickety split. Even a reimport (which I trust you are not doing) should require less than 10 minutes. I think on my servers, 20000 takes about 5 minutes on reimport.

You should review your resources and system commitments. Hosting any server-based program is not an easy chore, but webtrees is a demanding project.
Santa Stephen the Fabled Santa
Latest webtrees at MyArnolds.com
Hosted by webtreesonline.com, a division of GeneHosts LLC
MacOS 10.6.8, Apache 2.2+, PHP 5.4.16, MySQL 5.5.28
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #11

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
fisharebest wrote:
Out of interest, what happens if you set SERVER_URL to "foobar.mysite.drek" in the wt_site_setting table?

edit - the forum automatically hides h t t p, which is awkward when you need them to show.

h t t p : / / foobar.mysite.drek

i will check this later after the conversion importation process completes... i haven't even been given the opportunity to look at other settings yet ;)
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #12

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
ToyGuy wrote:
wkitty42 On a properly configured server, 22000 INDI's is nothing. Moderately big for PGV, but almost inconsequential to webtrees.
The wizard should have moved that across lickety split. Even a reimport (which I trust you are not doing) should require less than 10 minutes. I think on my servers, 20000 takes about 5 minutes on reimport.

You should review your resources and system commitments. Hosting any server-based program is not an easy chore, but webtrees is a demanding project.
please forgive this if it comes across "rough" but all of my servers are donations and recycles... they are properly configured... they are just slow... the particular server in question is a dual PIII 800mhz box with 512M RAM... not everyone has $$$$$ to throw at anything they want when they want... what others don't want as workstations any more i re-purpose as servers and give them another 10+ years of life instead of polluting the dumps and harming other countries by sending them to recyclers who then send them off to places like china, korea and similar "third world countries" to fill their dumps and pollute their water and soil ;)

i've been hosting my servers since the mid 90s, sir... i've always done what others said "can't be done"... things like having servers on dial-up connections and similar... it can be done and easily if one takes the time to do such ;) O:)
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #13

  • Jackie
  • Jackie's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum
  • Posts: 4706
...
Last Edit: 5 years 8 months ago by Jackie.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #14

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
Jackie wrote:
..who then send them off to places like china, korea and similar "third world countries" to fill...

Hi wkitty42

Would you please be careful with the words you choose to talk about other countries? Some users of this forum are from China.
i meant no harm telling what is the truth, ma'am... many countries do receive recycle material which is placed into dumps surrounded by shanty towns where folks go every day to gather capacitors, resistors, gold, lead and other materials from the circuit boards and other waste materials so they might sell it and have enough money to eat for that day or maybe even that week... i did place "third world countries" in quotes so as to designate how others may view them... i do not view them that way and i hate the thought that stuff like that is done daily by many countries in the name of being "green" and "recycling"...

my sincerest apologies to all who may be offended... i, too, am offended by these actions but that's getting maybe too political and i won't go down that trail any further...

FWIW: i'm the one who contributed the mod to add phpmail to PGV way back when because the default mail mechanism would not work with my server configuration or my ISP/smarthost ;)
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
Last Edit: 5 years 8 months ago by wkitty42.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #15

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
i ran into a problem at 75% (a task on the main server went haywire and locked up that box which caused the connection thru it to time out and be lost) so i've gone back now to look at some of the previous questions and try to provide some answers there...

fisharebest wrote:
Have you set either the SERVER_URL or LOGIN_URL parameters in the site config? (That's the wt_site_setting table, if you cannot log in to check!).
neither one of those two items is in the wt_site_setting table at this time...

fisharebest wrote:
What happens if you log on directly to the local machine?
i put the code back like it was previously and went directly to the server's
http://LAN_FQDN/webtrees
... it gave me a 302 and pointed me to
http://LAN_FQDN/webtrees/login.php?url=index.php%3F
and at this point the domain in the cookie has been set to the WAN_FQDN... putting in the user and password gives me the "You cannot login because your browser does not accept cookies." notice in red and places me back at
http://LAN_FQDN/webtrees/login.php

fisharebest wrote:
What happens if you don't visit login.php as the first page? i.e. visit index.php first.
in the current state, it puts me back to the login.php page... nothing i do will get me past this stage...

i've put my code back in place and am going to wade on thru what i can to get this data imported...

[EDIT]
now that's wildly unexpected! it seems to have picked up at 75% and looks like it is continuing on from where it was... we'll know in a few hours if it tries to go past 100% ;)

i also noted when digging with phpmyadmin that these new tables are innodb tables instead of myiasm tables like the PGV ones are... i understand myiasm to be faster but innodb is supposedly more sturdy? could this be one of the reasons of for the slowness? i don't remember it taking this long with PGV in the past [shrug]
[/EDIT]
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
Last Edit: 5 years 8 months ago by wkitty42.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #16

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10914
now that's wildly unexpected! it seems to have picked up at 75% and looks like it is continuing on from where it was

The records at the start of the file (individuals, families) need lots of DB updates (places, links, dates) whereas the records at the end of the file (repostories, media, notes...) require just one
i also noted when digging with phpmyadmin that these new tables are innodb tables instead of myiasm tables like the PGV ones are... i understand myiasm to be faster but innodb is supposedly more sturdy? could this be one of the reasons of for the slowness? i don't remember it taking this long with PGV in the past

You may want to review your setting for the MySQL parameter innodb-flush-log-at-trx-commit
wiki.webtrees.net/en/MySQL_Configuration
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #17

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
fisharebest wrote:
now that's wildly unexpected! it seems to have picked up at 75% and looks like it is continuing on from where it was

The records at the start of the file (individuals, families) need lots of DB updates (places, links, dates) whereas the records at the end of the file (repostories, media, notes...) require just one
yeah, but i expected it to have to start all over again... once i brought the main server back online, i simply went back to the page it had been on before i did my testing and it picked right up at 75%... at first i thought i was going to have to refresh the page but then i saw the % counter advance... that's when i edited my post and added the [EDIT] block...

fisharebest wrote:
i also noted when digging with phpmyadmin that these new tables are innodb tables instead of myiasm tables like the PGV ones are... i understand myiasm to be faster but innodb is supposedly more sturdy? could this be one of the reasons of for the slowness? i don't remember it taking this long with PGV in the past

You may want to review your setting for the MySQL parameter innodb-flush-log-at-trx-commit
wiki.webtrees.net/en/MySQL_Configuration
there are no innodb configuration settings in my /etc/mysql/my.cnf at this time... this is a default install of ubuntu server... started back at 6.xx LTS, then updated to 8.xx LTS and now at 10.04 LTS... i did find old backups of my.cnf from when i was running a slave db server but i had to stop that two or three years ago when we needed that machine for something else... but those backups don't have any innodb settings in them, either... i've always used myiasm tables TTBOMK...

question: looking at the raw mysql data directory, i see the wt_*.frm files in the specified database directory but nothing else... i don't know how big the raw database files are... are they not stored in the database directory like myiasm's MYD, MYI and frm files????
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
Last Edit: 5 years 8 months ago by wkitty42.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #18

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10914
there are no innodb configuration settings in my /etc/mysql/my.cnf at this time

Anything not specified has a default value. The wiki artcile (which I wrote!) is worth reading.....
are they not stored in the database directory like myiasm's MYD, MYI and frm files

If you really want the data for each table to be stored in a separate file, then google the innodb setting "file_per_table".
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #19

  • wkitty42
  • wkitty42's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 104
fisharebest wrote:
there are no innodb configuration settings in my /etc/mysql/my.cnf at this time

Anything not specified has a default value. The wiki artcile (which I wrote!) is worth reading.....
i have read it... three or four times now... it is a good article but it leaves me with some questions still... not that they are all that important... i guess i need to dig out the defaults somewhere and put them in the file... i truly hate when defaults are used but not listed in the config files so they can be easily changed without a bunch of rooting about hunting for that which should be readily available... [/rant - not directed at you]

fisharebest wrote:
are they not stored in the database directory like myiasm's MYD, MYI and frm files

If you really want the data for each table to be stored in a separate file, then google the innodb setting "file_per_table".
i'm not the database wizard i was years ago... these days i just want things to work with good security, decent speed and decent resource consumption... i honestly did not expect that innodb would be as slow as this compared to myiasm but i do recall a conversation years ago about similar with some application... at that time i did convert it to myiasm... there wasn't anything in the install instructions that i recall stating that it would use innodb and how to switch it to myiasm if desired... no biggie, i guess... i can always redo the conversion again after kicking mysql with
skip-innodb
and possibly adding
default-storage-engine = MYISAM
;) O:)
Cuius testiculos habes, habeas cardia et cerebellum.
webtrees 1.6.1 - self hosted - Private site - 24500+ Individuals - 8900+ Families
Dual PIII 800mhz 512M RAM
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new install problems 5 years 8 months ago #20

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10914
It is not InnoDB that is slow.

It is the fact that it is configured to flush every transaction to disk (for ACID compliance). Hence every insert/update requires you to wait for your spinning rust to complete another rotation.

If you don't need ACID compliance (MyISAM is not ACID compliant), then simply change the "flush" parameter I mentioned earlier and restart MySQL. It will make a huge difference.

When it comes to using the system, then InnoDB is generally faster for read operations.
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net
The administrator has disabled public write access.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Powered by Kunena Forum