This Help forum is for issues relates to the latest release (1.7). For issues related to development versions please use their own Help forum.
Before asking for help please read "How to request help" by clicking on that tab above here."

TOPIC: Editing media fails every time

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #1

  • ArchPrime
  • ArchPrime's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New
  • Posts: 35
I have found that any effort to substitute a new/better image for an existing lower quality image by editing the 'filename on server field' in the media edit dialog, substituting the correct new image filename on the server, then hitting 'save' results in the dialog going blank/white, and nothing further happening. Clearing browser cache and refreshing the page where the media item is listed, nothing has changed.

Is this a known bug?

The only workaround I have found is to edit the raw Gedcom - which works immediately, without any need to clear cache etc, but surely should not be required?
Website: www.kingfamily.prime.net.nz
Webtrees version 1.7.13
Last Edit: 8 months 2 weeks ago by ArchPrime.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #2

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 11741
> results in the dialog going blank/white

Are there any messages in the webtrees error log?
Are there any messages in the webserver error log?

>substitute a new/better image for an existing lower quality image by editing the 'filename on server field' in the media edit dialog

IIRC, the effect of editing this field is to *rename* the existing file, not to point the record to a new file.
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #3

  • ArchPrime
  • ArchPrime's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New
  • Posts: 35
fisharebest wrote:
> results in the dialog going blank/white

Are there any messages in the webtrees error log?
Are there any messages in the webserver error log?

>substitute a new/better image for an existing lower quality image by editing the 'filename on server field' in the media edit dialog

IIRC, the effect of editing this field is to *rename* the existing file, not to point the record to a new file.

My webtrees changes log shows a series of apparently successful attempts to change the filename - though in each subsequent change entry, the starting filename has reverted. No error recorded

Snippet:
2019-03-28 00:23:46 accepted M125
0 @[email protected] OBJE
1 FILE ClaraJaneSkelton/Frigate Halcione 1869.jpg
1 FILE ClaraJaneSkelton/HALCIONE Greenock 1869.jpg
2 FORM jpeg
3 TYPE photo
1 SOUR @[email protected]
2 PAGE mp.natlib.govt.nz/detail/?id=7106
3 TEXT Reference Number: 1/2-014543-F
1 _UID 39D488F6C8794F8FA22889C18A212DDE7480
1 NOTE "The Shaw Savill and Albion barque `Halcione' was wrecked at Wellington Heads on the night of 8 January 1896 in a heavy southerly gale while on voyage from London to Wellington with a full freight of general cargo - all hands were saved."
1 CHAN
2 DATE 28 MAR 2019
3 TIME 00:23:14
3 TIME 00:23:46
2 _WT_USER admin
admin kingfamily.ged
2019-03-28 00:23:14 accepted M125
0 @[email protected] OBJE
1 FILE ClaraJaneSkelton/Frigate Halcione pre 1896.jpg
1 FILE ClaraJaneSkelton/Frigate Halcione 1869.jpg
2 FORM jpeg
3 TYPE photo
1 SOUR @[email protected]

Server log was empty

I guess that suggests two things - it would be good to have a user-friendly 'relink' function to swap in alternative media in that same dialog, given that simply typing a new file name to be used does not work that way.
It would also be good if the dialog gave an error message rather than just turning blank if a person types an invalid new name for an existing file (eg if that filename is already present, as seems to be the case for me), or if the file is missing
Website: www.kingfamily.prime.net.nz
Webtrees version 1.7.13
Last Edit: 8 months 2 weeks ago by ArchPrime.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #4

  • thomas52
  • thomas52's Avatar
  • Online
  • Frequent
  • Western North Carolina
  • Posts: 846
If you wish to REPLACE an image with a higher quality image, replace it in the server, not in webtrees. I often do this. No change to webtrees is necessary or appropriate.
To substitute an image in webtrees, simply upload it with a different name, and link the new image to the individual or family. I do this as well.
"Failure is an amazing teacher." (L'échec est un professeur extraordinaire.)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #5

  • fisharebest
  • fisharebest's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 11741
Out of interest, webtrees 2 supports multiple files in each media object.

So, you will be able to add your new image as a second file.

If you want the new image to be used for the thumbnails, use the re-order function to move it to the top.
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #6

  • ArchPrime
  • ArchPrime's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New
  • Posts: 35
thomas52 wrote:
If you wish to REPLACE an image with a higher quality image, replace it in the server, not in webtrees. I often do this. No change to webtrees is necessary or appropriate.
To substitute an image in webtrees, simply upload it with a different name, and link the new image to the individual or family. I do this as well.

If 'under the hood' editing methods are being used, then editing raw GEDcom works as well, as noted - but my point is that somebody's elderly uncle (for example) who is contributing to the site should not need to know about or have FTP access. Also that errors should not simply result in a blank user interface.

If, as in this case, the new image needs to retain all the same notes, source repository info etc of the original, uploading it and linking it separately sounds like unnecessary of duplication of effort - I thus propose the addition of 'relink' functionality to the webtrees media edit dialog is both appropriate and highly desirable.
Website: www.kingfamily.prime.net.nz
Webtrees version 1.7.13
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #7

  • ArchPrime
  • ArchPrime's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New
  • Posts: 35
thomas52 wrote:
If you wish to REPLACE an image with a higher quality image, replace it in the server, not in webtrees. I often do this. No change to webtrees is necessary or appropriate.
To substitute an image in webtrees, simply upload it with a different name, and link the new image to the individual or family. I do this as well.

If 'under the hood' editing methods are being used, then editing raw GEDcom works as well, as noted - but my point is that somebody's elderly uncle (for example) who is contributing to the site should not need to know about or have FTP access. Also that errors should not simply result in a blank user interface, with no elegant way to either cancel or proceed offered.

If, as in this case, the new image needs to retain all the same notes, source repository info etc of the original, uploading it and linking it separately, then repopulating all the relevant feilds sounds like unnecessary of duplication of effort - I thus propose the addition of 'relink image' functionality to the webtrees media edit dialog is both appropriate and highly desirable. This functionality would also deal with the situation where a genuine error was made the first time the image was attached to an individual, and it is realised the wrong image has been allocated only after all the user added metadata content has been entered.
Website: www.kingfamily.prime.net.nz
Webtrees version 1.7.13
Last Edit: 8 months 2 weeks ago by ArchPrime.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #8

  • Shemwell
  • Shemwell's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior
  • Posts: 193
I just overwrite the file using ftp, delete the thumbnail and refresh the page.
Barry
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Do you need a web hosting solution for your webtrees site?
If you prefer a host that specialises in webtrees, the following page lists some suppliers able to provide one for you: 

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #9

  • ArchPrime
  • ArchPrime's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New
  • Posts: 35
Shemwell wrote:
I just overwrite the file using ftp, delete the thumbnail and refresh the page.
Thanks Shemwell.

For some reason that didn't work for me when I tried it at the time - after the substitution, clicking the thumbnail resulted in a 'not found' error.

This may be because I had already tried the approach of typing a different file name in the media item dialog filename field, under the mistaken impression this would link the record to that different file. Perhaps as a result something had come unglued with the database linkage.

That said, I am not wanting to give ftp access to my server to everyone who wants to collaborate on the family tree - and I do want any relative who has a better version of an image to be able to replace an inferior version, or to replace a mistakenly uploaded image with the correct image, without throwing away all the other intended user data associated with that image,
Website: www.kingfamily.prime.net.nz
Webtrees version 1.7.13
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Editing media fails every time 8 months 2 weeks ago #10

  • bertkoor
  • bertkoor's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold
  • Greetings from Utrecht, Holland
  • Posts: 1675
The naieve solution I would perform: just add a new media object with the better picture.
Then afterwards renove the lower quality image.
That won't ever fail, right?
stamboom.BertKoor.nl runs on webtrees v1.7.13
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Editing media fails every time 1 week 5 days ago #11

  • abab
  • abab's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New
  • Posts: 7
Hi Bert,
doing this, you lose the order of your media files, because the new (better) image will be displayed as last.
Regards, Knud
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Powered by Kunena Forum