This Help forum is for issues relates to the latest release (1.7.10/11/12). For issues related to development versions please use their own Help forum.
Before asking for help please read "How to request help" by clicking on that tab above here."

TOPIC: Adding New Individual to a Family Tree

Adding New Individual to a Family Tree 3 weeks 2 days ago #1

• aqlabor
  • New
Hi
This is my first time setting up Webtrees. I choose to install the 2.0.0 alpha pre release. I created two families and added an individual. I changed the John Doe to the default individuals. Now I want to add more individuals and there is no button to add one. I have administrative rights. I recreated a new user and gave them editor role for the two families I had created as administrator. I then logged in as the user and still cloud not find a way to add new individuals. What Am I missing ? My webtree runs on localhost on Windows 10
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Adding New Individual to a Family Tree 3 weeks 2 days ago #2

• fisharebest
  • Administrator
webtrees uses the "GEDCOM" format for storing and processing its data.

In GEDCOM, you have two main types of object - individuals and families.

You add individuals to families, and add families to individuals.

On the page of your first individuals (John Doe), you'll see a tab which shows all of his families.

Go to this tab, and you'll see options to add new relatives (along with the corresponding family groups).

e.g. there you can add a spouse (which will also create a family record for storing the marriage details).
Greg Roach - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - fisharebest.webtrees.net

Adding New Individual to a Family Tree 3 weeks 2 days ago #3

• bertkoor
  • Gold
  • Greetings from Utrecht, Holland
Hi,

You'd usually extend the tree by adding to the default individual: adding parents, a partner & children. This can be done on the Family tab.