This Help forum is for issues relates to the latest release (1.7.10/11/12). For issues related to development versions please use their own Help forum.
Before asking for help please read "How to request help" by clicking on that tab above here."

TOPIC: Help with FTM 2009 attachments

Help with FTM 2009 attachments 1 week 5 days ago #1

• webtrees
  • New
I just installed webtrees version 1.7.11 on my Synology server. Easy installation and webtrees looks like a very good open source project, I will probably use in for years ahead.
I have been using FTM 2009 (upgrade from 2004) for many years and have 400+ persons and 330+ attachments in my FTM tree.
It's a serious limitation that FTM 2009 won't include the media information in an exported GEDCOM file, even though the GEDCOM format supports it.
I have read that newer versions of FTM can export media information, so can anybody help me with this, e.g. import my FTM file(s) and export it to GEDCOM ?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Help with FTM 2009 attachments 1 week 4 days ago #2

• norwegian_sardines
  • Gold
First, let me welcome you to webtrees. I’ve been using webtrees since it’s beginning.

Second, I’ve not used FTM or RM in a long time so I’m not going to be the best help importing a new GEDCOM from either of them, I hope others with more current import experience can give you a hand.

Third, GEDCOM does not contain any media within it. GEDCOM only has pointers, file paths, to the location where the media resides. In the case of a website the files will most likely reside on your website, so you will need to migrate your media to the website as a separate step.

Once you export your GEDCOM out of FTM you will need to look and see if the exported GEDCOM actually has the media pointers imbedded in the media records, which should be designated as OBJE records in the GEDCOM. If you are unfamiliar with the GEDCOM standard and how it is setup then I can help with this.