Web based family history software

Question 404 MEDIA ERROR

  • mac.alter
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
6 months 3 weeks ago #1 by mac.alter
404 MEDIA ERROR was created by mac.alter
I've uploaded image. Saved. Sometimes instead of wee version of image, I see 404 but it reverts to showing image. Shows in Album tab. Shows in Manage Media.
This one I can't make appear. It appears in indi1 event and Album tab okay.
 

When I add to Indi2, it shows 404 in the event and in the Album tab.
 

Mac.alter [update: 25 Mar 2024]
webtrees 2.1.20 | PHP Version 8.1.27 | mySQL 8.2 | MacOS 14.5 (Sonoma)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • bertkoor
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Greetings from Utrecht, Holland
More
6 months 3 weeks ago #2 by bertkoor
Replied by bertkoor on topic 404 MEDIA ERROR
Looks like the system failed to create the thumbnail.
See webtrees.net/faq/thumbnails/

stamboom.BertKoor.nl runs on webtrees v1.7.13

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • mac.alter
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
6 months 3 weeks ago - 6 months 3 weeks ago #3 by mac.alter
Replied by mac.alter on topic 404 MEDIA ERROR
How do I fix? If I check Manage media, will I be able to tell if there are others?

I've also seen immediately after saving upload and return to edit event screen, before returning to the Facts and Events page where the thumb appears. So it must have self-fixed.

Mac.alter [update: 25 Mar 2024]
webtrees 2.1.20 | PHP Version 8.1.27 | mySQL 8.2 | MacOS 14.5 (Sonoma)
Last edit: 6 months 3 weeks ago by mac.alter.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • bertkoor
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Greetings from Utrecht, Holland
More
6 months 3 weeks ago #4 by bertkoor
Replied by bertkoor on topic 404 MEDIA ERROR
Sorry for the confusion and I should have paid a bit more attention.

Your topic title says 404 which means Page (or file) Not Found. This can happen with thumbnail images which had failed to be created because of memory constraints (as explained in the FAQ I linked to)

Your screenprint says 403 which means Forbidden. So the cause is different.

Does the red 403 go away after logging in, and only appears for visitors? Then it can be a privacy issue. It looks like a census form or another document holding information of multiple individuals.

If one of the linked individuals is still "private" then the document itself is also considered "private".

Otherwise I don't know... Perhaps more info needed.

stamboom.BertKoor.nl runs on webtrees v1.7.13

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • mac.alter
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
6 months 3 weeks ago #5 by mac.alter
Replied by mac.alter on topic 404 MEDIA ERROR
Oops, misread that one. But here's a real 404 that just appeared:
 
It happened after I saved in the add media window and went back to the edit event page.

What do I do? 

Mac.alter [update: 25 Mar 2024]
webtrees 2.1.20 | PHP Version 8.1.27 | mySQL 8.2 | MacOS 14.5 (Sonoma)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • bertkoor
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Greetings from Utrecht, Holland
More
6 months 3 weeks ago - 6 months 3 weeks ago #6 by bertkoor
Replied by bertkoor on topic 404 MEDIA ERROR
What are the dimensions in pixels of the image?
Do you let webtrees add a watermark to images?
How much memory is available (see control panel - server information)
Is your server using the library ImageMagick or GD?
Have you tried any of the things suggested in the FAW I linked to in my first reply?

stamboom.BertKoor.nl runs on webtrees v1.7.13
Last edit: 6 months 3 weeks ago by bertkoor.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • mac.alter
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
6 months 3 weeks ago #7 by mac.alter
Replied by mac.alter on topic 404 MEDIA ERROR

What are the dimensions in pixels of the image? all my images have height of 1080px
Do you let webtrees add a watermark to images? no as no one has access yet
How much memory is available (see control panel - server information)  128M
Is your server using the library ImageMagick or GD? no, no idea what they are :)
Have you tried any of the things suggested in the FAW I linked to in my first reply? I know memory is sufficient as I have a fraction of the images from previous kiwitrees site and never had problems. What I've found is after page refresh, they usually have appeared. Will monitor.

Mac.alter [update: 25 Mar 2024]
webtrees 2.1.20 | PHP Version 8.1.27 | mySQL 8.2 | MacOS 14.5 (Sonoma)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • bertkoor
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Greetings from Utrecht, Holland
More
6 months 3 weeks ago - 6 months 3 weeks ago #8 by bertkoor
Replied by bertkoor on topic 404 MEDIA ERROR
A height of 1080 pixels.. If it is a 16:9 monitor screenshot, then the width will be 1920 pixels. In total that is about 2 million pixels.

If your graphics extension is ImageMagick (please do open your control panel, visit the page with Server Information and look at the list of installed PHP Extensions), then 10 x 2 million = 20 MB is needed to create a thumbnail for such an image, plus 20 MB overhead.

So yes, 128 MB should be sufficient, although I think it's a bit on the low side. From the example given in the FAQ this is likely not sufficient to process a 300dpi scan of an A4 (8x11") paper leaf. 

KiwiTrees did things differently than webtrees. So things that did work without problems might give issues now.

> What I've found is after page refresh, they usually have appeared.

Aha, we might be on to something here...

stamboom.BertKoor.nl runs on webtrees v1.7.13
Last edit: 6 months 3 weeks ago by bertkoor.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • mac.alter
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
6 months 3 weeks ago - 6 months 3 weeks ago #9 by mac.alter
Replied by mac.alter on topic 404 MEDIA ERROR
Is this what you want:Imagick compiled with ImageMagick version ImageMagick 6.9.7-4 Q16 x86_64 20170114 www.imagemagick.org  
As for image size, I picked 1080px height for no reason whatsoever. Think I saw it somewhere and wanted a consisted height (instead of width). If that's a problem, what's better? As for the ImageMagick, no idea what that is.

Mac.alter [update: 25 Mar 2024]
webtrees 2.1.20 | PHP Version 8.1.27 | mySQL 8.2 | MacOS 14.5 (Sonoma)
Last edit: 6 months 3 weeks ago by mac.alter.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • fisharebest
  • Away
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
More
6 months 3 weeks ago #10 by fisharebest
Replied by fisharebest on topic 404 MEDIA ERROR
FYI, when webtrees generates an "error image" - e.g. the red square with a number - it sends an HTTP header with a detailed error message.

You can see this in your browser's development tools.

Or, if you don't know how to use them, post a URL where we can see the image here. Note that we need to visit the page with the image - we can't help from just a screenshot.

Greg Roach - greg@subaqua.co.uk - @fisharebest@phpc.social - fisharebest.webtrees.net

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Powered by Kunena Forum
}