Web based family history software

Question webtrees dont show scandinavian characters

• jarvin
  • Topic Author
More
10 years 9 months ago #1 by jarvin
I have recently updated from phpgedview to webtrees latest version. Unfortunately the program does not show any scandinavian characters. In phpgedview they appeared correctly with the exact same gedcom file. I am new to wbtrees and cannot figure out where the problem is. Not even if the error is in webtrees, php or mysql. I suspect it is a question about configuration because webtrees itself displays the scandinavian characters whitch belongs to the translated program. Is there anyone who can giv me a hint where to start looking.
I run webtrees on linux debian. Mysql runs with innodb.
/jarvin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 9 months ago #2 by fisharebest
Replied by fisharebest on topic webtrees dont show scandinavian characters
What exactly do you mean by "does not show any scandinavian characters"?

I guess that you are seeing strange/random characters instead of letters with diacritics.

This is a bug in PGV. It corrupted the data when it was written to the database - and then uncorrupted it when it was read back.

The migration copies the (corrupted) data from the database. See the FAQ wiki.webtrees.net/en/FAQ#Importing_data_from_PhpGedView

If this guess is wrong, and you have another problem, please provide more specific details (example, URL, etc.)

Greg Roach - greg@subaqua.co.uk - @fisharebest@phpc.social - fisharebest.webtrees.net

• jarvin
  • Topic Author
More
10 years 9 months ago #3 by jarvin
Replied by jarvin on topic webtrees dont show scandinavian characters

fisharebest wrote: What exactly do you mean by "does not show any scandinavian characters"?

I guess that you are seeing strange/random characters instead of letters with diacritics.

Yes webtrees shows irrelevant characters insted of the scandinavian.